Escape in Downtown Cumberland


Nestled in the historic downtown district on Baltimore Street, The Rosenbaum connects those traveling to the area with those locally who are looking for an escape downtown. Whether looking up at the sky through the atrium while dining on the first floor, shopping at the boutiques, or meeting friends while staying in one of the elegant upper-story rooms, escape comes easy at The Rosenbaum.

Modern Office Spaces

Shopping & Dining Downtown

Luxury upper-Story Vacation Stays

Luxury upper-Story Appartments

Meeting place for a discerning taste

Modern Office Spaces

Shopping & Dining

Luxury upper-Story
Vacation Stays

Luxury upper-Story

Meeting place for a
discerning taste


118 Baltimore Street
Cumberland MD 21502




After celebrating their Golden Jubilee in 1898, brothers Simon and Susman Rosenbaum officially open Rosenbaum Bros Department Store at 118 Baltimore Street. Construction of the four story building allowed for the business to transform from a small dry goods store to a larger department store.


Rosenbaum Brothers Department Store celebrated their 78th anniversary with a large sales event and a 1187 pound cake that sat in the front window. Filled with 78 gold and silver coins, the cake was baked by Community Bakery and took 3 days to bake and 2 days to decorate. In 1948, Rosenbaum Bros Department Store celebrated their centennial.


On Saturday, August 20, 1955, Rosenbaum Brothers buried a time capsule at the Constitution Park Amphitheatre as part of the Cumberland Bicentennial Celebration. The capsule contained pictures of the city, heads of important city organizations, and friends of the Rosenbaum family. Copies of local newspapers and 1955 coins were also added to the capsule.


In late 1971, the Rosenbaum Department Store officially closed its doors. Eyerly’s Department Store moved into the space before relocating to Lavale.


The former Rosenbaum Building was purchased by First Federal Savings Bank in 1986. The building was renovated, and much of the current footprint of the remodel exists today.